Endorsements Committee releases first round of 2015 recommendations

For the past few weeks, the KCDCC Endorsements Committee has been meeting regularly to speak with candidates and deliberate on races that will be contested at the upcoming August and November elections. Ahead of KCDCC’s May 26th executive board meeting, the Endorsements Committee is pleased to announce its first round of recommendations, which will be presented at the meeting for the board’s consideration. Races not listed below are still being evaluated by the Endorsements Committee; motions to endorse candidates in races other than those listed below will not be in order at Tuesday’s meeting, per KCDCC’s standing endorsement rules.

  • Initiative 735 – YES/PASS
  • King County Assessor – Lloyd Hara
  • Director, King County Elections – Zack Hudgins
  • King County Council, Position #4 – Jeanne Kohl-Welles
  • Port of Seattle, Position #2 – Courtney Gregoire
  • Seattle City Council, District #2 – No recommendation
  • Seattle City Council, District #3 – Rod Hearne
  • Seattle City Council, District #5 – Deborah Juarez
  • Seattle City Council, District #7 – Sally Bagshaw
  • Issaquah City Council, Position #2 – Jennifer Sutton
  • Kirkland City Council, Position #6 – Dave Asher
  • **Shoreline City Council, Position #2 – Keith Scully
  • **Shoreline City Council, Position #4 – Doris McConnell
  • **Shoreline City Council, Position #6 – Lorn Richey
  • Tukwila City Council, Position #6 – Kate Kruller
  • Seattle School Board, District #2 – Rick Burke
  • Seattle School Board, District #3 – Jill Geary
  • South King County Fire & Rescue, Position #2 – Roger Flygare

The King County Democrats previously took a position against Tim Eyman’s I-1366 at the March executive board meeting and endorsed Claudia Balducci for King County Council District #6 at the April executive board meeting.